0

Breaking News, August 22, 2019: Your Assistance Needed to Stop SB 330 Today

CLICK HERE FOR A PDF YOU CAN SHARE

Breaking news: Just snapped up some vital, inside information from Sacramento, about SB 330, the anti-democratic, trickle-down housing bill that requires NO affordable housing. My colleagues, from key groups from around the state, met with Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzalez (D-San Diego), chair of the Assembly Committee on Appropriations, and she told them she had only just learned that the bill doesn’t require affordable housing. Puzzling, we know.

She also said the bill won’t be heard in Assembly Appropriations this week, but next – on Aug. 28. This gives us a small window of time to pressure the Appropriations Committee to slow this bill down for a year or two by putting it in the deep-freeze called the Suspense File.

PRESSURE  • PRESSURE  • PRESSURE

Everyone needs to jump in to stop this outrageous bill. If we don’t here’s what will happen:  

  1. SB 330 will silence the Neighborhood Council system and all community-based boards in negotiating for affordable housing units or public benefits. It silences these crucial discussions by allowing only 5 hearings per project— an unprecedented silencing of sensitive communities that forces City Hall to hoard the handful of “allowed” hearings!
  2. SB 330 is a trickle-down housing bill that does not require any affordable housing units,  making it a giveaway to luxury developers. We have a GLUT of luxury housing already! Many legislators have no idea the bill doesn’t require affordable housing!
  3. SB 330 urges luxury developers to sue cities up to $50,000 per unit if a city rejects a bad development proposal. The state courts will be jammed as cities rightly fight back!

What you can do: Today, please call and email the members of the Assembly Committee on Appropriations and tell them to stop SB 330: It should go in the “Suspense File” to give lawmakers more time to craft a sensible bill.


Below is a sample letter or phone script you can edit to your liking.  (See phone numbers and email addresses below for the Assembly Appropriations committee members.)

———————-

Subject line: Stop SB 330

Dear Assemblymember xx:

Please stop SB 330 in Appropriations. The bill doesn’t require a single unit of affordable housing. It rewards gentrification, demolition and displacement of working families and low-income households by developers, and silences local input, even in the most sensitive communities, by allowing only 5 public hearings per project. And because SB 330 urges developers to sue cities for up to $50,000 per unit if a city rejects a bad proposal, you will see costly countersuits jamming up the state courts because cities won’t stand for such punitive measures.

If you don’t kill SB 330 outright in Appropriations, please put it in suspense and make it a 2-year bill so its fatal flaws can be addressed.

Thank you,
Your name

———————

Assembly Appropriations members’ phone numbers & emails: 

Copy and paste email addresses form and send to all members in one email:

assemblymember.gonzalez@assembly.ca.gov
assemblymember.bigelow@assembly.ca.gov
assemblymember.bloom@assembly.ca.gov
assemblymember.bonta@assembly.ca.gov
assemblymember.brough@assembly.ca.gov
assemblymember.calderon@assembly.ca.gov
assemblymember.carrillo@assembly.ca.gv
assemblymember.chau@assembly.ca.gov
assemblymember.diep@assembly.ca.gov
assemblymember.eggman@assembly.ca.gov
assemblymember.fong@assembly.ca.gov
assemblymember.gabriel@assembly.ca.gov
assemblymember.gabriel@assembly.ca.gov
assemblymember.garcia@assembly.ca.gov
assemblymember.maienschein@assembly.ca.gov
assemblymember.obernolte@assembly.ca.gov
assemblymember.petrie-norris@assembly.ca.gov
assemblymember.quirk@assembly.ca.gov
assemblymember.rivas@assembly.ca.gov

Phone numbers:

Lorena Gonzalez (Chair): (916) 319-2080
Frank Bigelow (Vice Chair): (916) 319-2005
Richard Bloom: (916) 319-2050
Rob Bonta:  (916) 319-2018
William P. Brough: (916) 319-2073
Ian C. Calderon: (916) 319-2057
Wendy Carrillo: (916) 319-2051
Ed Chau: (916) 319-2049
Tyler Diep: (916) 319-2072
Susan Talamantes Eggman:  (916) 319-2013
Vince Fong:  (916) 319-2034
Jesse Gabriel: (916) 319-2045
Eduardo Garcia: (916) 319-2056
Brian Maienschein: (916) 319-2077
Jay Obernolte: (916) 319-2033
Cottie Petrie-Norris: (916) 319-2074
Bill Quirk: (916) 319-2020
Robert Rivas: (916) 319-2030

FOR MORE INFORMATION:

# # #

Leave a Reply